November 4, 2014 Election Results County Perspective

U.S. Senate

Incumbent Senator Susan Collins convincingly beat her opponent Shenna Bellows with 68.63% of the vote and will serve a fourth term as U.S. Senator from the State of Maine.

U.S. House of Representatives

Representative Chellie Pingree (D) retained her seat in U.S. House District 1 with 60% of the vote cast in her favor. She defeated Republican Isaac Misiuk and Independent Richard Murphy.

Representative Mike Michaud's (D) run for Governor freed up his seat in U.S. House District 2. With 47% of the vote, Republican and former Maine State Treasurer, Bruce Poliquin, defeated Democrat and former Maine State Senator, Emily Cain, who received nearly 42% of the vote and Independent candidate, Blaine Richardson, who received 11% of votes cast.

Governor

In the Governor's race, Republican Paul LePage won with 48.45% of votes cast. U.S. Representative Mike Michaud came in second with 43.14%; Independent Eliot Cutler had 8.4%; and undeclared official write-in candidate, J. Martin Vachon, received .01% of votes cast.

Maine Senate

The Senate sees a power shift in the State Senate as Republicans won a majority of seats in this election. As reported by BDN reporter, Mario Moretto, "Sen. Mike Thibodeau of Winterport, who has been Senate minority leader for the past two years, was unanimously chosen by his colleagues to be the next Senate president, though technically that decision will have to be confirmed by the full Senate on Dec. 3." Other leadership positions in the Legislature will change, as well.

Maine House of Representatives

Democrats retained their majority in the House, albeit a smaller one with 79 members. Their numbers decreased by 10 with this election. It is likely that Speaker Mark Eves, D-North Berwick, will continue to wield the gavel as Speaker of the House.

County Commissioners

Due to the adoption of a new county charter, **Androscoggin** County added four new districts and commissioners to its Board of Commissioners. Incumbent Democrat in District 1, Elaine Makas, was re-elected to another term; and four new commissioners were elected this November, as

November 4, 2014 Election Results County Perspective

well. The new commissioners include: Ronald Chicoine, District 2; Matthew Roy, District 3; Alfreda Fournier, District 5; and Sally Christner; District 7.

Six additional counties held elections for county commissioner this fall. **Hancock** County reelected Republican Percy Brown, and **Oxford** County elected Republican Timothy Turner as commissioner for the first time. **Somerset** County elected two new commissioners, one of whom, Dean Cray, defeated incumbent commissioner, Robin Frost. **Somerset** County voters also elected Newell Graf to a commissioner's seat. He replaces Linda Quinn, who did not run this time around. Commissioner Betty Johnson, Democrat, won re-election in **Waldo** County; and Republican Marston Lovell narrowly defeated incumbent Daniel Cabral in a three-way race for commissioner in **York** County.

All newly elected county commissioners assume their offices January 1, 2015.

County Sheriffs

This year thirteen of Maine's sixteen counties held elections for county sheriff, as half of Maine's county sheriffs chose not to run for re-election. As a result of the November election, five incumbents and eight new sheriffs will take the oath of office January 1^{st.} Five of the new sheriffs elected formerly served their departments as chief deputies; and three new sheriffs will head sheriff departments for the first time.

Eric Samson will serve his first term as sheriff of **Androscoggin** County. Darrell Crandall, former Chief Deputy, takes the reins in **Aroostook** County. Current Sheriff Kevin Joyce ran uncontested and continues as sheriff in **Cumberland** County; and Scott Kane is the newly elected sheriff of **Hancock** County. Randall Liberty also won an uncontested race for sheriff in **Kennebec** County, as did incumbent, Donna Dennison in **Knox** County. Incumbent Wayne Gallant was re-elected in **Oxford** County; and Chief Deputy, Troy Morton, won the sheriff's seat in **Penobscot** County. In **Piscataquis** County incumbent John Joseph Goggin continues as sheriff; and former Chief Deputy Dale Lancaster was elected sheriff in **Somerset** County. Chief Deputy, Jeffrey Trafton, was elected sheriff in **Waldo** County; and former Maine State Trooper, Barry Curtis, defeated incumbent Sheriff Donnie Smith in **Washington** County. Chief Deputy, William King, won the race for sheriff in **York** County.

November 4, 2014 Election Results County Perspective

Winners of Other Elected County Offices

Judge of Probate:

- Androscoggin County Michael Dubois
- Hancock County William Bradley
- Penobscot County M. Ray Bradford
- Somerset County Robert Washburn

Register of Probate

- Androscoggin County Brian D. Bolduc
- Lincoln County Catherine H. Moore (official write-in candidate)

County Treasurer:

• Oxford County – Marc W. Vanderwood defeated incumbent Roy G. Gedat

Registrar of Deeds

• Somerset County - Diane M. Godin (incumbent)

District Attorney

- District 4 Maeghan Maloney
- District 6 Geoffrey A. Rushlau
- District 7 Matthew J. Foster